This is why I drink

This is why I drink

Not because I over think

I drink because I just want to sink

Not kill myself sink or flush my worries  through a sink

But to sink into myself

To be true to myself

Because we all know the drunk man is the only honest man these days

This is why I drink

Not because of self pity or the cloak of the sad

I drink because I’m glad

Glad I lived another day in a world gone mad

Where nothing is assured.

This is why I drink

To establish a link

To celebrate with family

To bond with friends

I sip on volcanic lava

What you call kool aid and vodka

And as I take shots of tequila

I begin to feel stronger

But my vision gets blurry and my feet gets heavy

I start to get weary

The reason why I drink begins to elude me

I’m more than tipsy

The battle to regain control of my locomotion

The overwhelming feeling is like drowning in the ocean

Helpless and lost

This is not why I drink…

Leave a Reply

