The Mute

My oath is silence

My fear has no voice

I am but a mute

I plea,

Forever shackled by the hush! and whist! of society.

Malice fueling their hearts, sparking up red flames of vanity

Consuming chivalry and giving off ashes of insanity.

Prejudice and nepotism are the fumes thereof.

I am but a mute

I plea,

I bleed because of words unspoken

I witness it all: the crime, the knave and the token

But I stand by and watch everything deteriorate because am yoked in

A slave to my fears.

My screams are but empty  mumblings

The cake slowly crumbling.

I am but a mute

I plea,

Soon to be lost in this world I see.

For my words are untrue

And now, am part of the crew

My soul corrupted with their seed.

I cry for mercy

But Heaven declares me guilty.

One comment

  1. Maame Akua · January 1, 2014

    Tragic….it’s a fine piece

Leave a Reply

