I Miss Poetry

I miss poetry

I miss the times,

When all of my lines

Were perfect rhymes.

I miss when I fell in love with poetry.

When my poems  were vague

And my girl would be amazed.

I miss that rickety old book: PJ 18.

I miss being a rapper

Slaying words on paper.

I miss poetry.

I miss reading  the fulani creation story

Like a priest reading the Bible.

I miss when I fell in love with poetry.

When Offeibea was on stage

And her words gave me goosebumps.

I miss sitting at the royal parade at midnight

Listening to her breathe out life.

I miss when I fell in love with poetry.

When every word and letter was my very soul bleeding on white paper .

I miss when I fell in love with poetry

When Kwesi Brew’s Mesh was the love of my life.

I miss reading Rainie’s blog,

Her honesty inspired me.

I miss listening to Psalm One poe out sermons with passion

Like Christ at the temple lashing.

I miss Efo Dela’s amusing African literature.

I miss Amiri Baraka’ s black poems.

I miss when I fell in love with poetry.

When my thirst for literature was insatiable.

When nursery rhymes were brilliantly  delightful.

When Aaron’s love poems were pure and chaste.

When I was plain with my words.

When I saw myself in David’s ink.

I miss her like my grandma’s chicken soup.

I miss before this,

Before my poems wallowed in sexuality

Before I started to question my spirituality

Before this state of missing the before.

I miss when I fell in love with poetry.

One comment

  1. CeeKay_MuZiK · July 22, 2014

    Reblogged this on Cee Kay's Cerebrum.

Leave a Reply

