My Type

So she asked me last night

What’s your type?

Which lady catches your sight?

So I took a deep breath

And said

I don’t want Nicki or Barbie or somebody with a big booty

I want  Mary Todd

Someone to stand by me when I’m against all odds

The kind strong as a rod

Not an old man’s rod

But the rod that made Moses a God

The kind  to stick with me when the southern states threaten me with swords

And I’m assassinated at the Ford

²I  don’t want Amber, Kim or someone curvaceous and slender

I want Jacqueline Kennedy

Someone who will always remember me

A lady who won’t speak bad about me

When journalists write about me

The one who’ll ride with me even till the death of me

³ I don’t want Alicia Keys, Jhene Aiko or Rihanna

I want Coretta or Hillary Clinton or Michelle Obama

A lady without drama

One that everyone can call Mama

One that will support me when the dogs come  barking and biting

And the hate and envy keeps rising

A lady who prays for me even when the FBI say I’m a flawed man who’s  cheating

The kind to dream the dreams I dream

For in the end, all a man needs

Is just one Coretta

To be a King

image

6 comments

  1. popsiclev · January 19, 2015

    Every woman should see this

  2. benyiwah · January 20, 2015

    I absolutely love this.

  3. arimus · February 2, 2015

    chale this is deep.

  4. Krystelle · May 31, 2016

    The last 2 sentences tho…😏💏

Leave a Reply

